Release 0.5.9.3

May 14, 2009

This release was going to be a small “tidying up” release, adding those last few features I could find in the interface.

Then, suddenly in a 24 hour period, 2 separate enterprising admins/developers contacted me with features they have written and passed me the code.  From that, 0.5.9.3 went from being a small update to potentially the biggest new feature-adding update to date!  So a massive thank you to Nathan Przybyszewski and Florian Baenziger for their contributions.  Its much, much appreciated.

Changelog is the following:

-  Added:  Ability to control more Tab Behaviour settings
–  Added:  Ability to control history settings
–  Added:  Ability to control Private Data settings
–  Added:  Ability to control advanced Browsing and Spelling settings
–  Added:  Ability to delete private data cookies
–  Added:  Ability to delete private data offline websites
–  Added:  Ability to delete private data passwords
–  Added:  Ability to control SSL domain icon
–  Added:  Ability to control download directory
–  Added:  Ability to replace certificates for all user profiles
–  Added:  Ability to suppress post-update Firefox start page

First 4 were ones I wrote, next 6 were Florian’s and last one was Nathan’s.  I realise there is a potential duplication between some of the Private Data code written by myself and Florian (great minds think alike…!) but I’ve left those in at the moment until I decide (or get feedback from users) which is the better way of framing these features.

Which brings me onto another thing – that ADM template now has so many features, it is getting mighty messy.  This is now getting to be important.  It seems to me that the best way forward would be to group settings in folders, but have yet to come up with a design there.  Once I do, I will post it here for feedback before committing into a release.  At the same time, I will try and produce an ADMX template for the settings (like most, we are actively looking at Windows 7 for deployment sometime in 2010).

Mainly for 0.5.9.4, I want to write in some sort of backup/restore code.  The problem with the current settings format is that it tattoos these pref files in Firefox.  Instead of trying to unwind the code each time at logoff/shutdown, it seems easier to me to just backup the entire file and restore it on reboot.  I still need to get to grips with the exact hows on this but will blog later on it.

Anyway, thanks again to Florian and Nathan for their contributions.  I should probably write a developers guide to FirefoxADM at some point but as they’ve proved its quite easy to figure out what does what!

0.5.9.3 is up on Sourceforge now.

7 Responses to “Release 0.5.9.3”

  1. diego Says:

    hello.
    thank you for your time and your work. really work, but is possible make this:

    – lock firefox setting, (same in IE WITH THE GP)

    the users can’t acces to chamge my proxy settings.
    thank you, you help me.

  2. andrew Says:

    Hi Mark,

    Thanks for the post.
    This thing saved my life (and our IT dept)!
    Actually I remember setting this one up early this year but don’t remember how/where did I get it.
    Now I’ve bookmarked it!

    Anyway, I have a few questions:

    – about the script, before they had .vbs but now it’s .lgns … do I supposed to rename them to .vbs again?

    – we were testing windows server 2008 64-bit on our network (it automatically assign itself as PDC) and I noticed that the firefox admin template falls under an extra folder (in caps):
    user config > admin template > CLASSIC ADMIN TEMPLATE > mozilla ADM
    will this be an issue?

    • Mark Sammons Says:

      Hi Andrew,

      Thanks for your very kind words.

      As to your questions:

      the lgns thing – not an issue. Basically, we disable the running of vbs scripts on our desktops to combat malware that uses the sort of document.doc.vbs filename to trick users into running them. In your desktops, you should just rename them to .vbs

      Classic Admin template – You will see this in Windows 2008, Vista and Windows 7. The native format of Administrative Templates in the new OSes has changed from ADM to ADMX (XML based). It still allows the old style format, but annoyingly puts them under that “Classic Administrative Templates” area.

      Both of these things I will document properly in an upcoming post!

  3. Astro Says:

    Hi,
    I have been looking for a way to do this with no luck when i found this project. However i ran into a problem while implementing this. I followed the instructions to the word but i could only get the default settings to work but for some odd reason not the lock settings features. I have the start up and shut down scripts in place and i have added the template. I don’t understand where the problem is here. Has any one else ran into this problem? or any one know of a solution? I would greatly appreciate any response.

    P.S Thanks allot for taking the time to work on this project and having it available for free.

    • Joel Says:

      I have the same problem. The GPO shows up in gpresutls and rsop.msc. Settings are written to the registry in HKLM\Software\Policies\Firefox. I thought it might be an issue with the scripts running so I check SYSVOL. Scripts are where they should be…

      Anyone have some suggestions?

      Server: Win2k8
      Client: WinXP SP3
      Firefox: 3.5.2

  4. Brendan Says:

    Mark,

    I have been testing these ADMs/Scripts and running into some problems which I hope maybe you can assist with. Below are the details:

    Environment:
    -Firefox 3.5.1 and 3.5.4
    -Windows XP / 7

    I downloaded Firefox ADMs from here:
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/firefoxadm/files/firefoxadm_dev/FirefoxADM%200.5.9.3/
    Its listed as version “FirefoxADM 0.5.9.3″.

    I created a Group Policy, added the Startup/Shutdown and Login/Logoff Scripts, then added the Firefox Lockdown and Default settings ADMs which allow the changes to settings.
    I then placed the test machines and users in test OUs and assigned the policy to both OUs.

    The settings apply with no problem. However, they will not remove.
    I’ve tried setting:
    -The item’s fields to blank
    -The item to Non Configured
    -The Item to Disabled
    -Removing the Group policy
    -Removing the objects from the OUs with the policy assigned.

    Each time I’ve tried one of these I’ve done a GPUPDATE /FORCE and a reboot to check for a change.
    If I set and then disable an item in the lockdown policy I can then change it manually on the client but this is simply not practical in the enviroment for which I am testing.

    Am I doing something wrong?

  5. josef lahmer Says:

    hi mark,

    ive an enhancement for MACHINE: firefox_startup.vbs on X64 architecture:

    works for me on x86 and x64 architecture …
    regards from austria
    josy


    inserting in LINE 45
    elseif fso.FileExists(EnVar(“ProgramFiles(x86)”) & “\Mozilla Firefox\defaults\autoconfig\prefcalls.js”) then
    FirefoxPrefsFile = EnVar(“ProgramFiles(x86)”) & “\Mozilla Firefox\defaults\autoconfig\prefcalls.js”
    NetscapeJscFile = EnVar(“ProgramFiles(x86)”) & “\Mozilla Firefox\netscape.jsc”
    FirefoxJsFile = EnVar(“ProgramFiles(x86)”) & “\Mozilla Firefox\defaults\pref\firefox.js”
    FirefoxAllJsFile = EnVar(“ProgramFiles(x86)”) & “\Mozilla Firefox\greprefs\all.js”
    FirefoxXpinstallJsFile = EnVar(“ProgramFiles(x86)”) & “\Mozilla Firefox\greprefs\xpinstall.js”
    FirefoxBrowserconfigPropertiesFile = EnVar(“ProgramFiles(x86)”) & “\Mozilla Firefox\browserconfig.properties”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

