FirefoxADM and Firefox 3

February 22, 2008

I think it is best I am completely open while I investigate this further, and to forewarn users of FirefoxADM that they may need to investigate another method of preference locking when they are considering deploying Firefox 3.

A couple of days ago, I tried Firefox 3 Beta 3 with a normal install of FirefoxADM and, to date, I have not been able to get it to work at all – either setting default preferences or locking preferences.  This is obviously a bit of a blow.

I feel that this could be connected to a bug in the Firefox code, as I have been unable to get locking working in any form (such as using the traditional method).

Its very early in the process of investigating this but if anyone has tried Firefox 3 and FirefoxADM and has any other experiences, please let me know.

I’ll post any updates to this here as well as in a new blog entry.

UPDATE (29/5/08):  Oh THANK GOODNESS…  https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=427927 was the bug and it is fixed.  FirefoxADM and Firefox 3 like each other again!  Thanks to wzzrd for his comment

12 Responses to “FirefoxADM and Firefox 3”

  1. wzzrd Says:

    Been looking for the same thing and eventually found this: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=427927.

    Apparently, it’s a bug that will be / has been fixed in RC1.

    Cheers!

  2. Mark Sammons Says:

    Thanks for the message. I just saw this on Bugzilla today. Interesting – will test out FirefoxADM I get a chance on Friday.

  3. Matt Says:

    Hi Mark,

    Thank you for FirefoxADM.

    I have created a new GPO with the ‘lock’ vbs and adm files and applied it to a test OU. I logged into a PC in that test OU and the auto proxy configuration URL that I had configured in the GPO was set and couldn’t be edited.

    However, I was wondering how I can remove/revert the settings for situations where a PC moves to an OU for which the policy no longer applies? I did move one of the PCs to an OU that the GPO is not applied to, but the auto proxy configuration URL setting is still greyed out.

    Thanks for any help you can offer.

  4. Mark Sammons Says:

    Matt,

    Add the shutdown script to the group policy. This reverses all the locks set in the startup script.

  5. Andrew Says:

    Hi Mark,

    I know it’s a pretty old post but I just come across it after all this time.

    Anyway, I tried to use FirefoxADM 0.4 with Firefox 3.0.4 but nothing works.

    Here’s what I did:
    – created a new OU + a test user
    – install a fresh Firefox on a test laptop (within the new OU)
    – add the user login script and the user .adm file in GP
    – power up the laptop and log in as usual

    I’ve check that the registry entries was created just fine but whenever I log in, the firefox’s settings just stays on the default one.

    I also tried version 0.5 then both the default and locked settings but none works.

  6. Andrew Says:

    Hi again,

    Please ignore my previous post.
    Problem was a wrong security/permission settings.

    But I have another “little” issue.
    Every time the user logs on and start firefox, it always display the “welcome to firefox x”, like when we upgrade firefox.

    once I closed firefox, there is an extra entry in prefs.js called:
    user_pref(“browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone”, “rv:x.x.x.x”);

    It seems everytime the firefox_logon.vbs script runs, that entry always got deleted for some reason.

  7. paul Says:

    to Andrew,
    what was your security/permission issue?
    I did the same thing as you to test FirefoxADM and settings remain default.

  8. Mark Sammons Says:

    Andrew,

    This is now fixed in the login script, download the 0.4.0.2 package from sourceforge and use the login script from that.

  9. Mark Sammons Says:

    Also, if you are using the logout or shutdown scripts, they have been updated in 0.4.0.2 as well.

  10. Andrew Says:

    Hi Paul,

    Since the script needs to be run by the user, make sure it’s located on a shared folder where the user has permission to read.

  11. Paco Vela Says:

    Hi Mark,

    I’m experimenting with FirefoxADM. I created a GPO with the lock adm.
    It works… half way.
    It sets the values on the user config (more specifically the proxy config), but the user is able to change it, wich is what I don’t want.
    Do I have to set any other permissions on a file or similar?

    Thank you very much for your work.

    Paco.

  12. Mark Sammons Says:

    Paco,

    You have to use the proxy config in the Computer Configuration section to lock settings. Unfortunately, due to teh way it works, I can’t lock settings from User Configuration settings.


Leave a Reply

