Pulling the Dust Covers Off FirefoxADM

September 19, 2008

Well, I’ve been threatening to do this for a while but I’ve decided to resurrect my seeming forgotten project, FirefoxADM.

First of all:  why?  Well, a lot of that is connected to why I stopped updating it.  The last version I released, 0.4, contained the vast majority of settings that I, and people who contacted me, seemed to need to implement Group Policy control in the enterprise.  I had no desire, or especially time, to keep adding more and more obscure settings that ultimately no one would ever use.  There was also another couple of angles to it:  firstly, at the time, I wanted to see if there was any way I could make the Group Policy Add-on (ADM XPI) I wrote a more flexible solution.  Unfortunately, that one has never really flew for a few reasons that I will come back to in another post.  Secondly, there seemed to be growing a movement of people interested in creating a Mozilla-backed enterprise solution.  Now, to be utterly honest, extremely little has happened on that front in the past 3 years.  That is not the fault of anyone involved in that process, I should add, but all of that is for another post too.

I am restarting FirefoxADM because there are a number of new things that I want out of it, some new features and some changes to the way it works.  There are also a number of new preferences that have come into play in the past 3 years.

I’m also hugely delighted at the sheer amount of people who contact me from across the globe who are using FirefoxADM in their environment.  That really gave me the biggest urge to start this up again, so onwards and upwards.  Any requests?

2 Responses to “Pulling the Dust Covers Off FirefoxADM”

  1. Christophe Girardy Says:

    Hi Mark,
    It’s a very good news to finally hear from you again.
    I’ll be very happy to test every thing you need us to.
    Don’t hesitate to ask if you need any help …
    Long life to FirefoxADM 🙂

  2. DarkStar Says:

    Good to hear development continues.

    Just a small request. Can FirefoxADM be adapted to manage a Netscape Navigator 9 Installation as well?

    Thanks,
    DS


Leave a Reply

